Rita Brogan Named WTS International’s 2015 Woman of the Year

May 12, 2015

WTS International selected Rita Brogan of Seattle, to receive its highest award, Woman of the Year.  Brogan will received the award at WTS International’s annual conference in Chicago May 22.

The award decision is based on the following criteria:

  • A woman who is a leader in transportation and has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry.
  • A woman who has directly contributed toward the advancement of women and minorities through programs or opportunities in the transportation field.
  • A woman who through her career achievements and support of women in the industry, has advanced the reputation and credibility of women in transportation.

Over the last four decades Brogan has worked on many fronts to advance social, economic and environmental justice, including serving as chair of the Washington State Women’s Council and on the National Commission for Women in the 1970’s, and as Metro’s superintendent of public transportation development in Seattle in the 1980’s.  As CEO of PRR Inc. over the last 25 years, Brogan has built a national strategic communications and marketing consultancy dedicated to civic empowerment.  

Brogan now serves as Chairperson of PRR’s Board of Directors and as Washington Gov. Jay Inslee’s most recent appointee to the Washington State Transportation Commission.  “Rita exemplifies the highest values of WTS International,” said Marcia Ferranto, president and CEO of WTS International, “At the same time that she continues to spur creative transportation solutions and foster public dialogue around our most difficult challenges, she continues to mentor and advocate for women and minorities in our world.”

In 2015, Brogan sold her interest in PRR to its employees, “I am so grateful to receive this recognition from an organization with the caliber of WTS International.  It has supported hundreds of women who have gone on to make major contributions as professionals, elected officials, public agency leaders, educators and as innovators in the field of transportation.”