People on the Move: Keolis North America, Mpact, NACTO, Nova Bus

April 10, 2024
Personnel updates from around the transit industry.

Brad Thomas took on the role of president and COO of Keolis North America on April 1, 2024, based out of the agency’s Boston, Mass., headquarters.

“Brad’s depth of multi-modal experience in our industry over the past three decades will bring significant added value to our leadership team in North America,” said David Scorey, Keolis North America CEO. “I’m thrilled to welcome him to our team not only due to his industry expertise, but also because of his commitment to superior customer relationships and engaging employee experiences.”

Thomas had previously served as the CEO, president of First Transit and First Vehicle Services since 2009. In the past two years, he led the organization through two transactions, first to a private equity firm and most recently, to another private sector operator. 

The Mpact Board of Directors has appointed Kammy Horne, AICP, as CEO. Horne has had experience at every level of government in both the private and public sectors. Prior to joining Mpact, Horne worked at VIA Metropolitan Transit in San Antonio, Texas, as senior vice president for development and planning.

“Kammy brings tremendous passion for the mission of Mpact, along with the vision, expertise and tenacity needed to elevate Mpact’s contributions to communities and the industry,” said Mpact Board President Diana Mendes. “She knows what it means to truly understand community needs and to deliver sustainable, equitable solutions. Her leadership comes at a pivotal time, as we all strive for more resilient and inclusive mobility and development investments so all populations can achieve their full potential.”

The National Association of City Transportation Officials (NACTO) Board of Directors has appointed Ryan Russo as its next executive director. With 25 years of experience under his belt, Russo has served as director of the Oakland Department of Transportation and as a deputy commissioner of the New York City Department of Transportation.  
Russo will succeed Corinne Kisner in June 2024, who will leave NACTO after 11 years. Kisner will continue to advise the organization until the end of the year, as she transitions to an independent consulting capacity.

“Ryan brings strong leadership, advocacy and integrity to his work in cities. He led some of the nation’s most transformative transportation projects and his commitment to our core values of safety, sustainability, accessibility and equity shows in his leadership and results,” said Janette Sadik-Khan, NACTO chair. “Corinne turned NACTO into the policy and practice powerhouse it is today and she leaves behind an organization positioned for new growth and success.”

Paul Le Houillier will take over as the new president of Nova Bus, effective June 1st, 2024.  He will be responsible for engaging sustainable transport solutions through the company.

“We are thrilled to welcome Paul Le Houillier to Nova Bus as our new President,” said Anna Westerberg, chair of the Nova Bus Board of Directors. “With his proven leadership skills and extensive business experience, Paul Le Houillier is well-positioned to lead Nova Bus into its next phase of growth and success.”

Le Houillier succeeds Ralph Acs, who retired from the Volvo Group April 1.


About the Author

Eman Abu-Khaled | Associate Editor

Eman Abu-Khaled is a recent graduate of Kent State University with a bachelors in journalism. She works through Endeavor Business Media with Mass Transit as an associate editor. Abu-Khaled brings a fresh perspective to the visual side of journalism with an interest in video and photography work.