Lewis Named Chair Of Texas Transportation Commission

March 18, 2015

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott on March 18 named Tryon Lewis chair of the Texas Transportation Commission for a term to expire at the pleasure of the governor. The commission oversees the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).

Lewis, of Odessa, Texas, is a former state representative from Texas’ 81st District, serving from 2008-2015. Prior to serving in the Texas Legislature, he practiced law in Odessa from 1973-1984 with a primary emphasis on civil litigation.

In 1985, Rep. Lewis took office as a State District Judge of the 161st District and served in that capacity until February of 2006, after which he returned to practicing law. During Rep. Lewis’ legislative career, he served as the Chairman of the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee from 2013-2015 and was the Co-Chair of the Joint House Senate Committee on Judicial Selection in 2014. Lewis is currently a partner at Atkins, Hollman Jones, Peacock, Lewis & Lyon Law Firm.