Capital Area Transit Announces 2015 Board Officers

Feb. 2, 2015

Capital Area Transit (CAT) Board of Directors has announced the election of new officers for 2015, according to Eric Bugaile, board chair. “I am pleased to have been again elected Chairman and honored to serve this dedicated and professional board. I look forward to continuing the improvements and efficiencies underway at CAT.” Bugaile said. He has served as CAT board chair since 2012.

The CAT board has focused on cost containment in the face of stagnant federal funding, while retooling the entire management team and launching new service and new technologies to make transit riding easier for the public.  The board continues to reach out to neighboring transit systems to institute a seamless regional approach to benefit the taxpayer through economies of scale.

In addition to Bugaile, executive director, Pennsylvania House Majority Transportation Committee, representing Dauphin County, Lenora M. Smith, Esq., Harrisburg attorney, representing the city of Harrisburg, has been elected vice chairperson.

Rick Rovegno, business executive and former Cumberland County commissioner, was  elected second vice chair and Elizabeth Benion, a government relations professional representing Dauphin County, was elected board secretary.

Michael Clapsadl, CPA, second deputy controller, Cumberland County, representing Cumberland County, was elected Treasurer. Kathy Possinger, executive director, Tri-County Community Action, representing the city of Harrisburg, was elected CAT assistant secretary; and Chad E. Saylor, chief clerk of Dauphin County, has been elected CAT assistant treasurer, representing Dauphin County.

“We are pleased and proud that the public’s transit interests in the capital region are so ably served by a diverse and expert board of directors.”  Bill Jones, CAT general manager, said.