Lane Transit District (LTD)

LTD Named APTA’s 2014 Outstanding Public Transportation System

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) has selected Lane Transit District (LTD) as the 2014 Outstanding Public Transportation System.

LTD is being honored for its outstanding service in the category of systems that provide more than 4 million and less than 20 million annual customer boardings. The District is joined by Tri Delta Transit of Antioch, California, (fewer than 4 million customer boardings category), and Utah Transit Authority, Salt Lake City, Utah, (more than 20 million annual customer boardings).

To commemorate this award, LTD has partnered with Falling Sky Brewing on the creation of Mash Transit Ale. A long-time supporter of alternative transportation, Falling Sky unveiled Mash Transit Ale during the celebration event on Monday, August 18.  Mash Transit Ale t-shirts are available for purchase at Falling Sky. Proceeds from the ale sales will go to the Lane Coalition for Healthy Active Youth (LCHAY). Plus, wearing your Mash Transit Ale shirt will allow you to ride free on any LTD bus every Sunday throughout 2014. As if this isn’t enough fun, LTD introduced the Transit Trail Map. The Transit Trail Map allows participants to take the bus to a variety of businesses throughout Eugene-Springfield and collect a stamp on their Trail Map. Once eight stamps have been collected, participants will be given a Mash Transit Ale shirt or a commemorative travel mug. Get more stamps and qualify to win one of several great prizes, including free rides on LTD for a year.

LTD will be presented the Outstanding Public Transportation System award during the APTA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Houston, on Oct. 13-15, 2014. Systems are recognized based on quantitative and qualitative criteria. The criteria include ridership and cost data, along with the following:

  • Safety — Enhanced safety measures
  • Operations and Maintenance — Efficiencies in operating and maintenance procedures
  • Customer Service — Methods of providing additional value and service to riders
  • Financial Management — Effective financial controls
  • Sustainability — Initiatives to increase sustainability of your organization and your community
  • Workforce Development — Well-trained workforce to meet the needs of the future
  • Attendance and Employee Costs — Containing costs and improving absentee rates
  • Minority and Women Advancement — Encouraging and promoting diversity
  • Marketing — Developing effective marketing tools to retain and attract riders
  • Policy and Administration — Implementing effective and productive administrative techniques
  • Community Relations — Promoting positive relations and contributing to a more “livable” community

When asked what the award means to LTD, General Manager Ron Kilcoyne commented, “We have an amazing team of employees at LTD. This award recognizes the passion, professionalism, and hard work that each member of the team carries out every day. It also recognizes the leadership of a visionary Board of Directors and the many community stakeholders that support LTD’s mission. This incredible honor validates what we do daily at LTD and gives us even more incentive to excel in fulfilling our mission to provide people the independence to achieve their goals, creating a more vibrant, sustainable, and equitable community.”

There are 102 U.S. transit systems (77 are APTA members) that fall into the 4 million to 20 million customer boardings category, and there are more than 600 public transit systems overall. The terrific employees, customers, and business partners throughout the LTD service area made this award possible. Congressman Peter DeFazio noted, “Since the 1970’s, Lane Transit District has provided the residents of Lane County with safe, reliable, and convenient transportation. The services provided have changed over the years, most recently with the introduction of the EmX in 2007, but LTD’s commitment to the community has not. I am pleased to see LTD receive national recognition with the 2014 APTA Outstanding Public Transportation System Achievement Award."