Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District

IL: MTD Recognizes Its Employees

The Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District acknowledged employee excellence at its 36th Annual Awards Presentation held June 1, at CityView at Illinois Terminal in Champaign. 

MTD Operators, Maintenance and Administrative personnel, Retirees, Illinois Terminal employees, and long-term employees were recognized at the banquet and awards presentation attended by MTD Board of Trustees members, employees, and their guests.

Outstanding Performance and Safety Awards were presented to Operators, Maintenance employees, and Illinois Terminal staff. Operator Safety Awards were presented for having zero preventable accidents in the previous calendar year. Criteria also include excellence in customer service, performance, and attendance.

Luis Fonseca was presented a 40-year Service Award; Dennis Harper, Dave Jackson, Barry Sloniger, and Morrie Trees were presented 35-year Service Awards; Tim Stephens a 30-Year Service Award, and Fred Buttitta, Tim Emery, Larry Fredrick, Mark Gendreau, Steve Heater, Ray Thomas, and Gervaise Williams 20-Year Service Awards.

Multi-year Outstanding Operator Awards were given to Doug Weaver and Charles Wilson (25 years), John Bedient and Brad Neumann (20 years), Vern Chavez, Sam Steenbergen, Paul Taylor, and Gervaise Williams (15 years), Kevin Brown and Merle Colclasure (10 Years), and Jeremy Blunier, Steve Freeman, Steve Mutch, Tom Thiel, Nancy Wehling, and Robin Welch (5 years). Multi-year Outstanding Maintenance awards were presented to Steve Ellis, Trai Nguyen, Mike Chubb, and Charles Lutz.

Operations Service Recognition awards for Outstanding service were presented to 78 employees. Outstanding MTD Maintenance Service and Illinois Terminal Recognition awards were presented to 21 employees, and five Special Services Operators were recognized for outstanding performance.

CU-MTD is proud of the safety records and outstanding performance of the many employees honored at the banquet. These employees personify and exemplify the District’s commitment to safety and performance excellence.