Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)

TX: Strauss Elected DART Board Chair

Robert W. Strauss, a partner at the Dallas-based law firm of Strasburger & Price, LLP, has been elected chair of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board of Directors.

Appointed in 2006 by the Dallas city council Strauss has served as vice chair of the DART board and chair of the budget and finance committee. He holds a Master of Laws (LL.M.) from New York University, a law degree from Brooklyn Law School, and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Queens College, City University of New York.

Plano and Farmers Branch representative Faye Moses Wilkins was elected vice chair. Wilkins, appointed in 1999, is president of The Wilkins Group Inc., a telecommunications and systems integration firm headquartered in the Richardson Telecom Corridor. She was vice chair of the board in 2010 – 2011. She has held a number of board leadership positions, including chair of the rail program committee, and as a member of the economic opportunity and diversity committee, planning committee, rail corridor ad hoc negotiation committee, and the transit oriented development committee.

Dallas representative Richard Carrizales was elected secretary. He previously was assistant secretary. The Dallas City Council appointed Carrizales, an attorney in private practice, in 2010. Gary Slagel, who represents Richardson, Addison, Highland Park and University Park, was elected assistant secretary. He was appointed to the board by those cities in 2011. He's president and CEO of CapitalSoft Inc., a software development firm.