Mass Transit Magazine

Mass Transit Announces its Top 40 Under 40

Mass Transit, the only magazine exclusively dedicated to public transportation, announces the fifth annual Mass Transit Top 40 Under 40 list, honoring those professionals who have made significant contributions to the public transit industry. Honorees were nominated by their peers and judged on criteria that included job commitment, industry involvement and contribution, achievement in his or her position and innovation in his or her field.

“Millions of people utilize public transportation every year, relying on it to transport them to work, school, social and sporting activities,” says Publisher John Hollenhorst. “The individuals chosen for this year’s list have been stand outs in their respective areas and show a strong passion and commitment that exemplifies the best of the best.”

“We received so many qualified nominations we could easily have extended the list,” adds Editor Leah Harnack. “It was challenging to narrow it down, but we are confident that this list is made up of professionals who are not only extremely deserving of this honor, we expect they will continue to play a significant role in public transport for decades to come.”

Click a name below to view their profile!

Mass Transit 40 Under 40 List 2013

Andrew C. Auxier, Stacy and Witbeck

Joshua Baker, Radford Transit, Operated by New River Valley Community Services

Jill Barnett, Lextran

Nadine Bernard, Nova Bus, Division of Volvo Group

Brent Boyd, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System

Brian D. Buchanan, VIA Metropolitan Transit

Lora Byala, Foursqure Integrated Transportation Planning Inc.

Gerardo Castillo, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Shawn A. Chavira, Foothill Transit/First Transit

Laura Cruz-Acosta, Sun Metro

Selene Faer Dalton-Kumins, Federal Transit Administration, US DOT

Michael Donaghy, MBA, BEP, Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Brian Farber, Federal Transit Administration, US DOT

James Harrison Flint II, Sunset Empire Transportation District and the Northwest Ride Center

Justin Garrod, Sound Transit

Tim Geibel, Crawford Area Transportation Authority

Paul Grether, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority/Metro

Christopher Hemmer, P.E., Parsons Brinckerhoff

Chad A. Huffman, Avail Technologies Inc.

Marie Lewis Adams, Transportation Management & Design Inc.

Benjamin Limmer, AICP, Valley Metro

Nate Macek, Parsons Brinckerhoff

Greg Marx BAE Systems

Amanda Nightingale, King County Metro, Sound Transit

Jon Y. Nouchi, Oahu Transit Services Inc.

Luke Olson, P.E., HDR Engineering Inc.

Nicholas Perfili, Fairfax County Department of Transportation

Julia Quinn, Amtrak

Anna Rahtz, Omnitrans

Christine B. Rhoads, First Transit

Robert Schneider, Central Midlands Transit (The Comet)

Mitun Seguin, Veolia Transportation

Christof Spieler, P.E., LEED AP, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County, Morris Architects

Conrad Venema, The Rapid

Rosa Ena Villarreal, Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority

James Vine, Prince George Transit Ltd. (A Division of PWTransit)

Justin R. Vonashek, Metra

Brian Waterman, AICP, StarMetro

Dr. Kari Edison Watkins, Georgia Tech

Billy Wingfield II, Valley Ride – Boise Services