Virginia Transit Association (VTA)

Virginia Transit Association Elects New Officers

The Virginia Transit Association (VTA) unanimously elected Newport News, Va., council member and Hampton Roads Transit board member, the Hon. Patricia Woodbury, as president of the association at its annual meeting held in Alexandria, Va. Woodbury has served as vice president of the association since June 2011.

Outgoing VTA President Mayor Ron Rordam of Blacksburg, Va., praised her for her statewide and regional commitment to advance public transportation and for her work as past chair of the Hampton Roads Transit board. She is a regional leader in Hampton Roads to reduce congestion and improve access to public transportation. Since her election as VTA vice president in 2011, Woodbury has worked actively within the association, her community and the region.

The Hon. Mary Hynes, Arlington County Board member, was elected vice president of the association for a two-year term. She joined the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (Metro) board in 2011, chaired the governance committee in 2011 and currently chairs the momentum 2025 working group. She served on the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) board since 2008 and is currently a member of the executive and legislative committees. She currently chairs the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) Region Forward Coalition.

Kevan Danker, executive director, Williamsburg Area Transport was elected treasurer and Al Harf from the Potomac-Rappahannock Transit Co. was re-elected secretary.