Greater Dayton RTA

OH: Dayton RTA Executive Director is Recipient of Transit Honor by State Association

Mark Donaghy, executive director of Greater Dayton RTA, was honored with the 2013 Leonard Ronis Transit Person of the Year award at Ohio Public Transit’s annual state conference on June 13.

Donaghy received the award for his commitment to high standards to improve the public transit industry, dedicated leadership and vision as OPTA president for the past three years and serving as a national advocate for the rights and interest of public transit access in local communities.

The Leonard Ronis Transit person of the year award is named for a longtime transit advocate who served as general manager of the Greater Cleveland RTA and president of OPTA and the American Public Transportation Association.

Presented to honor Leonard Ronis' many years of service to public transportation, the annual award honors a transit professional for their leadership in the transit industry; advancing a vision of a better future; and applying innovative solutions to regional issues.

“Choosing the recipient of the Leonard Ronis Transit Person of the Year is a very selective process, said James Gee, OPTA president and the Toledo Area Regional Transit Authority’s CEO and general manager. “The award is named after a trailblazer and industry leader”, said Gee. The award holds a high standard to live up to and I am pleased to say Mark meets or exceeds those standards.”

Under Donaghy’s leadership, Greater Dayton RTA has earned numerous recognitions, including, the Excellence in Achievement award by the Federal Transit Administration, and the 5-star Ohio Green Fleet designation by Clean Fuels Ohio, the state of Ohio’s only public transit agency to be awarded this certification. Donaghy has also been recognized nationally for his leadership in advancing opportunities for minorities and women in the transit workplace and developing ADA practices that assist bus operators in their daily interactions with customers.