Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)

DART Announces Board Elections

John Danish, an Irving attorney, has been re-elected chair of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board of Directors. 

Danish was appointed to the DART Board in 2005 after serving Irving as a city councilman, deputy mayor pro tem, and chairman of the Irving Planning and Zoning Commission. He holds an undergraduate degree from Wheaton College in Illinois and a law degree from Southern Methodist University. 

Board members re-elected Dallas attorney Robert Strauss as vice chair. Appointed in 2005, Strauss holds a Master of Laws (LL.M.) from New York University, a law degree from Brooklyn Law School, and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Queens College of the University of New York.

Plano and Farmers Branch member Faye Moses-Wilkins was elected secretary and Dallas member Richard Carrizales was re-elected assistant secretary. Wilkins, appointed in 1999, is president of The Wilkins Group, Inc., a telecommunications and systems integration firm based in Richardson. The Dallas City Council appointed Carrizales, an attorney in private practice, in 2010. He holds an undergraduate degree in education from the University of North Texas, a graduate degree in social work from the University of Texas at Arlington, and a law degree from Texas Southern University.

Board officers serve one-year terms.