Canadian Urban Transit Association (CUTA)

Bob Paddon Elected Chair of the Canadian Urban Transit Association

Bob Paddon, executive vice president, Strategic Planning and Public Affairs, TransLink (Vancouver), has been elected chair of the Canadian Urban Transit Association (CUTA). Paddon came to TransLink in 2001 from Metro Vancouver, bringing expertise in local government, communications, media relations and business administration. He was also part of the Metro Vancouver team that created TransLink.

In his acceptance speech at the CUTA Annual General Meeting in Victoria, Paddon thanked members for their support to the association. “I am honored to be chair at such an important point in CUTA’s success. I am looking forward to working with all CUTA members, board and the executive committee and to making my contribution in achieving ambitious plans for the future.”

Outgoing Chair John King was thanked for his contribution and commitment to CUTA in 2011-2012. "I would like to thank John for all of his hard work and his valuable contribution to the transit industry. John is leaving us a great legacy and I will work with CUTA to build on our current achievements and go on to even greater success in the future,” concluded Paddon.

Following this, changes were announced to the executive committee and included the election of Stéphane Forget, Société de transport de Montréal as first vice chair; Laurent Chevrot, Société de transport de Sherbrooke, vice chair communications & public affairs; Chris Akiyama, Seon Design, vice chair business members; and Daniel Bergeron, Agence métropolitaine de transport, vice chair government agencies. John King, city of Lethbridge, becomes immediate past chair.

Executive committee members whose positions remain unchanged are: Gary McNeil, Metrolinx, vice chair technical services; Councillor Bev Dubois, city of Saskatoon, vice chair municipal councils; Brian Leck, Toronto Transit Commission, honourary counsel; Suzanne Connor, Brampton Transit, vice chair education & human resources development; Paul Smith, New Flyer Industries, vice chair business members; Donna Shepherd, Burlington Transit, vice chair small transit systems; and Penny Williams, Transit Windsor, vice chair finance.

The CUTA AGM provided opportunity for CUTA members to receive an overview of the association's activity in the past year, review its financial report; and share its new mission and vision. Members were given opportunity to voice opinion on all of these topics, as well as to present other business for discussion.

View the full list of executive committee and board members HERE