CATS Head Elected to SW Transit Association Board

The Southwest Transit Association (SWTA) elected Capital Area Transit System CEO Brian Marshall to the board of directors at its annual meeting held in February 2012. Marshall was slated by the nominating committee to serve as the At-Large member for the eight state association. SWTA provides information and training to the member states local transit agencies.

In addition to Louisiana, SWTA member states include: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. SWTA was formed in 1979 to represent transit agencies and others interested in public transit issues. The mission is to assist members in maintaining and improving their ability to provide quality public transportation services.

“I am pleased to be elected to the SWTA board. The challenges for transit are big at both the local and national levels with federal funding being threatened. I will be a contributor to solidify transit in the EBR and in our region,” said Brian Marshall. Marshall has been a member of SWTA since he started working for CATS two years ago.

SWTA membership is open to transit agencies (urban and rural); state transit associations; state departments of transportation; municipalities; transit consultants; and transit manufacturers and suppliers.