Pierce Transit

Pierce Transit CEO Receives Outstanding Alumnus Award from Evans School of Public Affairs

The Evans School of Public Affairs at the University of Washington announced Lynne Griffith, Pierce Transit chief executive officer, as the recipient of the Executive Master of Public Administration Outstanding Alumnus Award. Griffith is a 2009 graduate of the school. The selection process was led by Dean Sandra Archibald and an Evans School faculty committee. The award was presented at the May 25 graduation ceremony and is the first time the school has presented the award.

“Ms. Griffith was selected to honor her exceptional lifetime of leadership in public transit and her outstanding efforts to guide Pierce Transit during a difficult economic time,” stated Dean Archibald. Griffith has been the CEO of Pierce Transit since 2006.

The Executive MPA Alumnus Award aims to recognize the achievements and exceptional leadership of an alumnus, with particular attention to how the Evans School and the Executive MPA curriculum made a notable difference in his or her work. The Evans School of Public Affairs at the University of Washington is the pre-eminent school of public policy and management in the Northwest and nationally ranked among schools of public affairs. The Evans School offers three degree programs: Masters in Public Administration, Executive Masters in Public Administration, and Ph.D. in Public Management and Policy, is home to five research centers, and conducts trainings for nonprofit and public sector executives.

Pierce Transit is the public transit agency for Pierce County and the second largest transit agency in the State of Washington. Board of commissioners chair Claudia Thomas stated, “We congratulate Ms. Griffith on this award and her outstanding service to the public.”

In 2010 Pierce Transit provided more than 16 million rides with over 53,000 weekday boardings through a system of local and express buses, vanpools, SHUTTLE vans for people with disabilities, and Park & Ride lots.