June People in the News

Louwana Oliva has been appointed general manager of the Centre Area Transportation Authority. She has served CATA as its assistant general manager for the past four years.

Arnold Isham Jr. has been named assistant director of transit operations for Cincinnati Metro. During his 22 years with Metro, he has held various positions, most recently as station manager.

VIA President/CEO Jeffrey C. Arndt was selected as one of the 2014 Champions of Diversity by the Texas Diversity Council.

Scott Wisner was promoted to bus services delivery manager at Phoenix, Arizona, Valley Metro where he is responsible for the operations and performance of contracts for the fixed-route bus system in the East Valley and a portion of the West Valley. Ron Brooks has been hired as manager of accessible transit services and is responsible for managing paratransit, RideChoice, the regional paratransit eligibility certification program, travel training and the regional reduced fare ID card program.

Kevin R. Collins, PE, has joined HNTB Corp. as project director and vice president. He is based in the firm’s Bellevue, Washington, office and currently serves as project director for the Sound Transit light rail East Link Extension.

Donald Filippi has joined the North County Transit District as chief of safety. He was previously superintendent, transit operations and safety at California Public Utilities Commission.

Jeff Jones, vice president - North American engine business and marketing communications, is retiring from Cummins Inc. Amy Boerger will succeed Jones in the leadership of the North American engine business. She has held roles in automotive marketing, field sales and service, OEM account management and Cummins Emission Solutions aftermarket business. Lori Thompson will assume a new position as vice president - engine business marketing.

Clinton B. Forbes was appointed to the position of vice president, operations, of the Central Ohio Transit Authority.

Katharine Eagan, AICP, was named interim chief executive officer of the Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority.

Phalease Crichlow was named vice president of human resources for the Indianapolis Public Transportation Corp. In her new role as a member of the corporation’s executive team, Crichlow will oversee the human resources division. Bryan Luellen has assumed the role of director of marketing and customer information at IndyGo.

Lorraine Brown has joined the South Bend Public Transportation Corp. as an operations supervisor. Transpo Bus Operator Cheryl Moore was given the agency’s first General Manager’s Award for her efforts on the job to help a lost child.

David Mitrou was named general counsel and director – labor affairs for the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority commuter rail contract by Keolis Commuter Services.Michael Cawley was named director of human resources and training for the MBTA commuter rail contract.

Fred Cozzi has joined Railhead Corp. His focus will be on continuing strong market growth of Railhead’s LDVR, tools and LED lighting solutions.

Beverly A. Scott, CEO/rail and transit administrator of the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority was named WTS International’s Woman of the year. Jeannie Lee, project manager for the Orange County Transportation Authority, was named Member of the Year. Claudia Folska, member of the RTD Board of Directors, was given the Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award.

James A. Martin, PE, PMP, has been promoted to vice president of STV. He is the director of rail vehicle engineering for the firm’s transportation and infrastructure division. Leonard R. Smith Jr., PE, has been promoted to vice president.

W. Ronald Coale, former Stockton transit district board member passed away at the age of 81 on April 17. He served 1973-83 as a member and chair of the board of directors for the Stockton Metropolitan Transit District.