Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA)

MO: 60 Metro Bus Operators ‘Distinguished’ as the Best in Safety and Customer Service

The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) honored 60 Metro bus operators during the 29th annual Distinguished Drivers Awards Ceremony Oct. 10.

The 2013 award recipients met rigid criteria that emphasize driver safety, customer service, reliability and attendance in a 12-month period. Metro operators are eligible for the honor if they have:
• No avoidable accidents
• No chargeable customer complaints
• No written violations or suspensions
• No missed assignments
• No more than one late arrival to work
• No more than eight non-vacation days off work

The distinguished drivers ceremony honored operators in four categories. The meritorious driver recognition was awarded to one operator earning 15 years as a distinguished driver; grand master driver awards were presented to five operators who have earned distinguished driver status 10 years; the master driver recognition has been awarded to one operator earning five years as a distinguished driver; the remaining 53 operators earned distinguished driver status during the current program year, including two operators with more than 20 Distinguished Drivers awards: O.B. Jemerson, 27 years; and Jerry Gardner, 22 years.

2013 Meritorious Driver

  • Otis Reliford

2013 Grand Master Drivers

  • Andrew Gordon
  • Edward Harmon
  • Bruce Joslin
  • Donald Sanders
  • Bruce Tiffany

2013 Master Driver

  • Jamie Pearl