WA: Bellingham Council Member Murphy Joins WTA Board

Jan. 21--The makeup of the Whatcom Transportation Authority Board of Directors has changed little in the new year. The board that decides everything from fare increases to route changes has just one new member, who participated in her first meeting Thursday, Jan. 16.

Roxanne Murphy, new to the Bellingham City Council, replaced Stan Snapp, whose term on the Bellingham council just ended.

The other members of the WTA board are Bellingham Mayor Kelli Linville, Bellingham City Council member Jack Weiss, Whatcom County Executive Jack Louws, County Council member Pete Kremen, Lynden Mayor Scott Korthuis, Ferndale City Council member Mel Hansen, Blaine City Council member Paul Greenough, Nooksack Mayor Jim Ackerman, and Amalgamated Transit Union Local 843 President Mark Lowry. As the labor representative, Lowry is a nonvoting member of the board.

Hansen retained his position as board chairman.

Reach Ralph Schwartz at 360-715-2289 or ralph.schwartz@bellinghamherald.com. Read his Politics blog at bellinghamherald.com/politics-blog or get updates on Twitter at @bhampolitics.

Copyright 2014 - The Bellingham Herald (Bellingham, Wash.)