People Around the Industry

The San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA), which oversees the Municipal Railway (Muni), recently announced the appointment of John J. Haley as director of transit. Haley is responsible for the overall direction, management and operations of Muni service for San Francisco. He joins Muni from the Metropolitan Transit Authority (Metro) in Houston.

The Denton County Transportation Authority board of directors announced the selection of Jim Cline as the authority's new president. Cline is well-known throughout the North Texas region having served as a director for the city of Irving since 1998. Cline has been heavily involved in the implementation of Dallas Area Rapid Transit's Orange Line, including resolution of key design, construction, right-of-way and funding issues. He also worked closely with the Trinity Railway Express and the Federal Railroad Administration on crossing related issues within the city of Irving.

Frank Kobliski, executive director of the Central New York Regional Transportation Authority in Syracuse, was elected president of the New York Public Transit Association Inc. (NYPTA) at the 2009 Public Transit Fall Conference in Albany, N.Y. As president, Kobliski will be responsible for overseeing the business of the association and will serve as the primary spokesperson for the public transportation industry in New York State.

First Transit and First Services recently hired Deborah DeVoe as senior vice president of sales. DeVoe is responsible for the direction and oversight of the company's overall business development strategy. DeVoe most recently served as vice president of sales for Aramark, one of the nation?s top professional services and facilities management companies.

Christopher J. Holliday, P.E., has been promoted to senior vice president at STV. He will continue in his role of national leader for the firm's Transportation and Infrastructure's systems and security practices, a position he was promoted to in October 2009, and report to William F. Matts, P.E., executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Transportation & Infrastructure Division.

Robert (Bob) J. Baniewicz, P.E., has been appointed rail project manager for the Fort Worth Transportation Authority (The T) with responsibilities to include management oversight for the design and construction of the agency's Southwest to Northeast commuter rail scheduled to start up in 2013. He also will assist with Tarrant County projects for the Trinity Railway Express (TRE), jointly owned and operated by The T and Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART.) Jeffrey Ritter has been appointed to the board of directors of The T by the Tarrant County Commissioners Court. Ritter replaces Jeane Grisham, who had been Tarrant County's representative on the nine-member board since November 2006.

A new manager has been hired to lead Lincoln County Transit, the 14-month old public transportation program in the Ruidoso area. Patricia DeSoto will replace Mickey Compton, who had previously said she wanted the job short-term to get the on-call small-bus ride program up-and-running. Compton was a former public transportation director in Carlsbad.